Lori Writes Funny Lori Duff Writes

Book Review — Chasing the Moon February 9, 2017

Chasing the Moon

“Chasing the Moon” by A. Lee Martinez is a strange little book, highly entertaining, and laugh out loud funny. Don’t let its silliness fool you, though. There’s a lot of existential philosophy in there if you pay attention.

In this book, all Diana wants is an affordable apartment. She finds one that seems too good to be true – the perfect size and location, already furnished to her tastes, and at a ridiculously low rent. When she takes it, she finds that it comes with a price: she must also be the ‘warden’ of an otherworldly entity that transcends time and space – Vom the Hungering – whose constant omnivorous hunger might just result in Diana herself being eaten.

The book has an original cast of characters. In addition to Diana and Vom, there is the building’s superintendent, who is also sort of the superintendent of life as we know it. There is Endless Smorgaz, who constantly buds clones who only have a lifespan of an hour or two. (Vom eats a lot of them) There’s a giant eyeball who insists he’s staring beyond you, a deadly puppy, and an ancient moon-god named Calvin who may or may not destroy the world.

In the middle of all the zaniness there are reflections on the nature of reality, perspective, the abhorrence of nature for chaos, and being a stranger in a strange land.

This book will appeal to fans of Douglas Adams, Terry Pratchett, and – I’m trying to think of an American author here, since the book isn’t very British, but I can’t think of one with a sufficiently Monty Python-esque sensibility. It’s not like anything else. It’s like itself. And that’s a good thing.

For more information, click the handy-dandy Amazon link below.

Book Review — Chasing the Moon

Leave a Reply

close

Book Review — Chasing the Moon

Leave a Reply

Lori Duff

Lori B. Duff is an award-winning author who practices law on the side.  Her latest book, "If You Did What I Told You..." is set to be released in the Spring of 2019. You can follow her on Twitter at @LoriBDuff and on Facebook. For more blogs written by Lori, click here. For more information about Lori in general, click here. If you want Lori to do your writing for you, click here.

Contact


Search